About me, the paintbox and how it all began

Watercolour Heart began in June of this year out of a series of unfortunate events, where I saw the true power of how celebrating creativity and life could turn any series of unfortunate events into fortunate opportunities. I have always given my everything in what I have done, it is just not in my capacity to do things half-heartedly, this often leaves me feeling tired but always happy and grateful. However, sometimes things happen out of your control and giving everything doesn’t feel as easy as it sounds

Unfortunate event one:

In June 2015 (just before my mid-year exam exhibition) I suffered nerve damage to my left hand that left it paralysed, which put me in an incredibly difficult position. Studying Fine Art requires that you have both hands fully functional at all times, especially with my printmaking and photography majors. Needless to say I was devastated, almost six months of work and I didn’t have the use of my hand to mount my work let alone put it up for exhibition. Thankfully my incredible mother flew down from Natal and spent a week getting a crash course on how to mount photographs and prints and helped me put up my entire exhibition, which turned out to be a great success.

Post- exhibition I was told by doctors that the nerve damage was a neuropraxia which is only temporary and I would get full motion and feeling back between six and twelve months. This was an incredibly huge relief and I left Cape Town to stay with my parents for a month to get rest and recover with therapy for my hand. Not being able to drive and get myself around as well as not be able to do simple things like dress myself was hugely frustrating coupled with the fact that I get bored very quickly did not aid the situation.

Unfortunate event two:

Last year in August my grandmother passed away. It was a pivotal point in my life because I had never lost a loved one before as well as the fact that when I tell people I started painting when I was six, she was the one who handed me the brush. A phenomenal artist, teacher and friend who had coached me through my first paintings in every different medium and always offered critique towards my work that was invaluably helpful. Although our time together was too short, the foundation she laid down for me in terms of technical ability and love of art will be carried with me always. She left me a beautiful white watercolour paint box, which I hadn’t opened until after the accident and my exhibition.

Unfortunate event one + Unfortunate event two = a paint box , time and an opportunity to turn the year around. I started using a fine liner and those very paints to create a unique illustration style and decided I would see how people responded to a personalised illustration business where I illustrated their photographs. I absolutely love family, personalised gifts and the beautiful moments in life that should never be taken for granted. This love combined with my complete and absolute desire to always be inspired and creating made Watercolour Heart one of my most exciting projects! My starting prices were unbelievably low as I was unsure if people would even be interested. To promote a completely unknown brand and artist is not an easy task. It has been the most incredible journey that hasn’t even been 6 months long , with almost 1000 likes on Facebook, a website and new special moments coming through all the time. One of the greatest rewards is knowing that you are responsible for bringing some creativity and colour into someone’s life and there are so many ways in which one can do this.

I truly hope that through my business and this blog I will be able to open a sincere and genuine space for us to learn how to add colour to one another’s lives and through my love of art to show a reflection of how important it is to have creativity in one’s everyday life. Creativity doesn’t simply pertain to drawing, painting or a particular art form- it can be thinking uniquely, looking at a situation from a different perspective, inspiring yourself and others, but mostly always being willing to give everything of yourself.

“To be creative means to be in love with life. You can be creative only if you love life enough that you want to enhance its beauty, you want to bring a little more music to it, a little more poetry to it, a little more dance to it.”

― Osho

I look forward to sharing my creative journey with you all!

3 thoughts on “About me, the paintbox and how it all began

Leave a Reply

